VIDYA BHAVAN, BALIKA VIDYAPEETH

SHAKTI UTTHAN ASHRAM, LAKHISARAI, PIN:-811311

SUBJECT:- CIVICS CLASS:- XTH DATE:05/01/XXI

SUBJECT TEACHER:- MR. NEEL NIRANJAN

CHAPTER 2.(REVISION -POWER SHARING) (BASED ON NCERT PATTERN)

Question 1. Explain the vertical division of power by giving examples from India. Answer: When power is shared among governments at different levels, i.e., the Union or the Central Government, the State Government and the Municipality and Panchayat at the lower

Central Government, the State Government and the Municipality and Panchayat at the lowe level. This division of power involving higher and lower levels of government is called the vertical division of power.

The Constitution declares India as a Union of States. Although the word 'Federation' is not used, the Indian Union is based on the principles of federation. The Constitution originally provided for a two-tier system of government, the Union Government or the Central Government representing Union of India and the State Governments.

A third-tier of federation was added in the form of Panchayats and Municipalities. As in any federation, these different tiers enjoy separate jurisdiction. The Constitution provides for a three-fold distribution of legislative powers between the Union Government and State Government. It contains three lists:

Union List (97 Subjects), State List (66 Subjects), Concurrent List (47 Subjects)

Question 2. India comes under which type of federation and why?

Answer: India comes under 'a holding together' type federation. In this type of federation, a large country divides its power between the constituent States and the National government. There is one government for the entire country and the others are governments at the State level. Both Central and State Governments enjoy their power independent of the other.

• The Central government tends to be more powerful vis-a-vis the states. Often different constituent units of the federation have unequal powers. For example, special powers have been granted to Jammu & Kashmir.